What the $heck?

Did you know the dollar sign ($) is a valid character in a Java variable name? Imagine my surprise when a student showed me the method he wrote. It’s supposed to calculate the amount of tip to leave at a restaurant table.

/**
 * Given the dollar amount of the bill, return 15% tip.
 */
public double tip(double $)
{
    return $ * 0.15;
}

I was so sure this was a bug in the IDE that I submitted a bug report. Then I read the Java spec on identifier names.

One thought on “What the $heck?

Leave a Reply

